Logging
  • 6 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light

Logging

  • Dark
    Light


Use logging to collect and view information about problems that occur while using SayIt or nVoq.Voice.

In nVoq client logs you can view information about error messages, diagnostic information about dictation timing, information about bandwidth, or summary statistics that occur while a user is logged in to the client.

With regular use, all nVoq dictation clients create logs while a user is logged in to the client that are saved on the user's computer or device.

  • In SayIt, under normal circumstances the previous log is deleted the next time the user logs in to the client.
  • In nVoq.Voice, the log file is appended with new activity.

 

When you enable logging for the user account in nVoq.Administrator two things happen in SayIt and nVoq.Voice:

  1. The level of information included in the client logs increases, so they include more information about what is happening with the client as the customer interacts with it.
  2. Logs created by the client are sent automatically to nVoq.Administrator each time the user signs out of the client.

Both nVoq.Voice and SayIt check the "logging enabled" account property (to turn up the logging level) and "request log" account property when the user logs in to the client and every five (5) minutes thereafter.


Logging Page Toolbar

Logging-toolbar

Request Log Toolbar-RequestLog-icon

Click the page icon to initiate request to pull a log file from the client for selected user accounts. If the user is logged in to the nVoq client, the log files will be collected. See Request Log
You must have the ability to edit the account in order to see this option.

Change Enabled Toolbar-ChangeEnabled-icon

Click this icon to change the enabled status of logging from "Yes" (on/enabled) to "No" (off/disabled) or vice versa for the selected accounts
You must have the ability to edit the account in order to see this option.

  • If changing logging from ON (enabled/Yes) to OFF (disabled/No), this setting just disables logging. 
  • If changing logging from OFF (disabled/No) to ON(enabled/Yes), this setting brings up the Enable Logging page from which you can set the log collection duration for the selected account(s). The logging expiration date is changed to make the new expiration date the selected number of days away. (It does NOT add the selected number of days to an existing expiration date.) Logging (a.k.a. Troubleshoot Mode in Voice) is enabled for both SayIt and nVoq.Voice simultaneously, so logs will be collected for both if using both clients.
If multiple accounts are selected and some have existing logging enabled and others do not, the Enable Logging page will open from which you can select the number of days that logging will be collected for accounts that did NOT have logging enabled previously, and logging will be DISABLED for the accounts that initially had logging enabled.

Support Center Toolbar-QuestionMark-icon

Click on the question mark icon in the blue toolbar to go directly to the online documentation for the Logging page. (The black question mark icon at the top right goes to the nVoq.Administrator main help page.)

Search

Use the Search field at the top right of the page to search for text in any of the columns. Enter all or part of a word or name.

Logging-Search

 

Logging Page Columns

Logging-Columns

Click on any column header on the page to sort information in ascending or descending order. The sort order is retained after selecting a different organization in the organization menu. Additionally, sorting and scrolling location are remembered when leaving and returning to a page, even if you log out and back in.
The list on this page can display up to 10,000 items. If you see an item count of 10,000 on a page, there may be more that are not included in the list. You could use Search or view a lower-level organization with less data to find specific items that may not be included in the list.

Account Icon / Checkbox

Hover your mouse over the account iconAccount-iconand click to put a checkmark in the box to select the account in order to perform actions on it from the toolbar icons.

Enabled

This column will say "Yes" if logging is currently on/enabled for the account, or "No" if it is off/disabled.

When logging is enabled:

  • In nVoq.Voice, the logging level is increased to "DEBUG" and logs are sent automatically to the administrator console each time the user signs out of Voice.
  • In SayIt, the logging level is increased to "TRACE" and logs are sent automatically to the administrator console each time the user signs out of SayIt.
nVoq.Voice will NOT be able to upload a log file if the user was automatically signed out because the password was changed in nVoq.Administrator while the user was logged in to Voice. The log file will be appended the next time the user logs back in to Voice and will be uploaded to nVoq.Administrator the next time the user signs out or closes Voice under normal circumstances.

Username

This is the username that the account holder uses to log in to the client.

First Name

This is the first name of the account holder.

Last Name

This is the last name of the account holder.

Organization (Company, Division, or Group)

The name of the account holder's organization. The organization level that you see here depends on what level was selected in the Organization menu at the top of the page. You will see child organizations of the organization selected at the top of the page (for example, if you select a company you will see the division organizations below it).

Log Collection Expires

The date that client logging will end (or has ended) since the last time logging was turned on for the user. Once the logging period has expired, the client will turn off logging (a.k.a. Troubleshoot Mode) and clear out the Log Collection Expires date the next time the user logs in to either nVoq client.

If the Log Collection Expires date is in the past and logging is not actively enabled, the date in this column will remain even after the user logs into the nVoq client. The date will be removed the next time a new logging period expires and the user logs into the client.

Last Log Captured

The date of the most recent log collection for this user account.

Actions

Click on the Actions icon (Accounts-actions-icon) to open a menu and select an action to take with the account. Possible actions may include:

  • View Logs: See the list of logs that have been collected (if any) from which you can download a log or delete it. 
  • Request Log: Initiate the request to pull a log file from the client for the user account. If the user is logged in to SayIt or nVoq.Voice, the log file will be collected. To see the log that was collected (if any), select "View Logs". You must have the ability to edit the account in order to see this option. See Request Log
  • Change Enabled: Changes the enabled status of logging from "Yes" (on/enabled) to "No" (off/disabled) or vice versa for the accountYou must have the ability to edit the account in order to see this option.
  • If changing logging from ON (enabled/yes) to OFF (disabled/No), this setting just disables logging for the account.
  • If changing logging from OFF (disabled/No) to ON(enabled/Yes), this setting brings up the Enable Logging page from which you can set the log collection duration for the accounts selected. The logging expiration date is changed to make the new expiration date the selected number of days away. (It does NOT add the selected number of days to an existing expiration date.) Logging (a.k.a. Troubleshoot Mode in Voice) is enabled for both SayIt and nVoq.Voice simultaneously, so logs will be collected for both if using both clients.
  • Edit Expire Date: Open a page from which you can change the log collection duration for the account if logging is already enabled. See Edit Logging Expire Date
    This option will only appear if logging is currently enabled for the account.